Faculty

Principal
Jonathan Robinson

It has been said that the value of educator is not determined by how many questions the students ask that the educator can answer, but by how many questions the students can ask that the educator cannot answer. I love this quote because it speaks to one of our fundamental goals at KMS…to develop students who are critical thinkers and also because it reminds us that education is about students and our goal is to guide them to become all that they can be.

I feel very privileged to lead this strong group of Montessori educators and support staff. It took me many years to find my place at KMS. Following completion of a BA in Economics Degree at Queen’s University I worked at the Calgary Albertan newspaper for several years. I returned to complete my a Bachelor of Education and began working in special education, English as a second language and outdoor education for several years. Before I entered administration I had the opportunity to teach at the primary, junior, senior and post secondary levels of education. While completing my Master’s Degree and thesis, I served as an elementary school Principal in a small Labrador community. I also spent two years writing the youth report for the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. Before joining KMS I served as Director of Education in an Algonquin community in northern Quebec.

As Principal since 1997, I’ve led a school that continues to grow in both the depth and breadth of its programming, facilities and community involvement. It’s an exciting place to be, as students, staff and parents join in a common vision to create a strong independent Montessori School that knows each student is an individual with gifts to be discovered and nurtured. Helping them find their place in the adult world is a very rewarding challenge and I feel fortunate to be part of their journeys.

principal
Educators

Kanata Montessori School prides itself in having a well qualified faculty that reflects the Canadian mosaic. All our Montessori educators have internationally recognized training. Many have joined us from the public system where they had the requisite public school qualifications before attaining their Montessori accreditation.

Our specialist bring the unique skills of their practice to enrich our students. The Art specialist is a practicing artist. Our French educators are not just fluent in French, but francophones, who bring the culture and love of their language into the classroom.

Our staff represent many faiths, many cultures, many perspective and we diligently seek to ensure that our staff is a strong team that collectively has the skills and experience to both meet the academic needs of our students and to ensure that each students see’s themselves represented in our professional staff.

We are joined with a common vision of what constitutes excellence in education and we believe strongly that the Montessori method provides the tools and experience that will lead to KMS students entering the real world ready to contribute to making the world a better place.

Julie Coursol juliecoursol@kanata-montessori.com Toddler 1 Educator
Jessica Woods jessica@kanata-montessori.com Toddler 2 Educator
Yi San Fung yi_san@kanata-montessori.com Toddler 2 Educator
Nirmalee Perera nirmalee@kanata-montessori.com Casa 1 Educator
Tanya Fox tanya@kanata-montessori.com Casa 2 Educator
Joanne Giles joanne@kanata-montessori.com Casa 3 Educator
Goretti MacDonald goretti@kanata-montessori.com Casa 4 Educator
Carlie Forth carlie@kanata-montessori.com After School Coordinator
Genevieve Garceau genevieve@kanata-montessori.com Casa & Junior Elementary French Educator
Janine Khoueiry janine@kanata-montessori.com Casa & Junior Elementary French Educator
Carolyne Buchanan carolyne@kanata-montessori.com Junior Elementary & Senior Elementary French Educator
Deirdre Murphy deirdre@kanata-montessori.com Junior Elementary Educator
Erica Freihaut erica@kanata-montessori.com Junior Elementary Educator
Norma Hart norma@kanata-montessori.com Senior Elementary Educator
Dana O‘Gorman dana@kanata-montessori.com Senior Elementary Educator
Dave Stibbe davestibbe@kanata-montessori.com Forest School Educator
Nicole Lapratte-Patry nicole@kanata-montessori.com Junior High French Educator
Kyle Jarvis kyle@kanata-montessori.com Junior High Educator
Paul Jalinski paul@kanata-montessori.com Junior High Educator
Bob Davidson bobdavidson@kanata-montessori.com Phys–Ed Educator
Matthew Beatty matthew@kanata-montessori.com Music Educator
Geoff Higgins geoff@kanata-montessori.com Facilities Manager
Jonathan Robinson jonathan@kanata-montessori.com Principal
Mary Vine admin@kanata-montessori.com Admin.
Helen Dicks helen@kanata-montessori.com Admin.
Sandra McIntyre sandra@kanata-montessori.com North Campus Toddler Educator
Mackenzie Leach mackenzie@kanata-montessori.com North Campus Casa Educator